HARP Constitution

- I General
 - \ast Membership of the Collaboration
 - \ast New Members of the Collaboration
 - * Contributions to the Common Fund
 - * Plenary Meetings
- II Collaboration Board
 - $* \operatorname{Role}$
 - * Membership and voting rights
 - * Meetings
 - * Decision Procedures
 - * Procedures
 - * Agenda and Minutes
- III Management Structures
 - * Steering Committee
 - * Technical Board
 - * Finance Board
 - * Editorial Board
- IV Management Functions
 - * General Rules
 - \ast Spokes person and Contact person
 - * Coordinators
 - * Technical Coordinator
 - * Resource Coordinator
 - * Project Leaders

I - General

* Membership of the Collaboration

Member Institutes of the Collaboration are all those Institutes which have been accepted as such by the Collaboration Board. Any physicist, engineer or graduate student belonging to one of the Institutes and contributing significantly to the experiment is a Member of the Collaboration.

* New Members of the Collaboration

The candidature of new Institutes is first considered by the Steering Committee (SC). Once the SC decides that sufficient information is available on the intended participation, the SC presents the candidature to the Collaboration Board (CB) for a vote.

* Contributions to the Common Fund

The Finance Board yearly fixes the amount of the Common Fund, necessary to the common installations, common provision and the maintenance and running of the experiment. The sum is confirmed by the CB. As a guideline, Institutes contribute to the Common Fund according to the number of Collaboration Members the Institute represents.

* Plenary Meeting

The full collaboration holds Collaboration Meetings at least 3 times a year. Collaboration Meetings are open to all Members of the Collaboration. All major issues concerning the physics aims of the experiment , the design of the detectors and all other important matters are presented to the Collaboration Meeting prior to any decision in the CB.

II - Collaboration Board

The CB is the policy making and decision making body of the Collaboration.

* Membership and voting rights

The CB is composed of representatives (one or two) from each Institute of the Collaboration.

The chairman of the CB is the Spokesperson.

The Spokesperson, the Contactperson, the Technical Coordinator and the Resource Coordinator are ex-officio Members of the CB.

The Collaboration Board assembles in the same week as the Collaboration Meetings. Additional meetings may be called by the Spokesperson as the need arises.

* Decision Procedures

The decisions in the CB are taken by consensus whenever possible or otherwise by vote. Each Institute represented in the CB has one vote. All votes are open except for elections and re-elections. Decisions of the CB require a 50% majority of the Institutes represented. Procurations are considered representations. Voting representatives can carry up to two procurations in addition to their own vote.

All CB members will be informed at least 1 week in advance about all subjects on which a decision must be taken. If a situation should arise where a decision cannot be reached by vote, a timetable shall be set for the decision to be reached at a subsequent meeting of the CB, but not before a minimum delay of 24 hours. The matter will then be decided if necessary by a simple majority of the Institutes represented.

A change of the Constitution needs a 2/3 majority.

* Agenda and Minutes

The agenda for the CB is prepared by the SP and is circulated in advance. Any member of the CB may ask for additional topics to be included. The proceedings of the CB are recorded in minutes. Draft minutes are circulated to members of the CB for approval at the next meeting.

III - Management Structures

* Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) supervises the progress of the experiment, along the lines defined by the CB, prepares decisions and makes recommendations to the CB. Members of the SC are nominated by the Spokesperson in consultation with the Collaboration and elected by the CB. The term of office is up to three years. SC Members may be re-elected. Ex officio Members of the SC are the Spokesperson, the Contactperson, the Technical Coordinator, and the Resource Coordinator. The meetings of the SC are chaired by the Spokesperson.

Technical decisions which have important implications for the detector, must be presented to the CB for confirmation, after discussion in the plenary Meeting.

* Finance Board

The Finance Board (FB) is responsible for dealing with all matters related to the costs and resources of the Collaboration, evaluation of the Common Fund, relations with funding agencies, contract policy, and all administrative matters. FB decisions with important implications for the Collaboration must be presented to the CB for ratification. The Finance Board is chaired by the Resource Coordinator. Members are Link Persons to the different national Funding Agencies. Ex officio Members are the Spokesperson, the Contactperson, and the other Coordinators.

* Editorial Board

The Editorial Board (EB) coordinates conference contributions and publications. The EB is chaired by the Spokesperson. Its members are nominated by the SP and confirmed by the CB. Barring exceptional circumstances, all physics results of the experiment must be presented and discussed in the Plenary Meeting prior to publication. No physical result of the experiment can be presented or published without approval of the EB.

IV - Management Functions

* General Rules

All mandates and appointments are valid for a limited period of time as defined by the CB. More than one function may be held simultaneously with the agreement of the CB. All post holders may be re-elected.

* Spokesperson and Contactperson

The Spokesperson is responsible to the CB for the execution of the project. The Spokesperson represents the Collaboration to the SPSC Committee, to CERN Management, and to the outside world.

The Spokesperson is elected by the Collaboration members.

The election of the Spokesperson is organised by a small group of persons appointed by the CB and takes place at least two months before the termination of the Spokesperson's term of office. Candidates should be presented by at least two Members of the CB and their names should be announced at least one month before the election. A candidate who has received more than 50% of the votes is elected. If no candidate receives this majority, the two candidates with the largest number of votes will participate in a second election round. The term of the office is two years.

The Spokesperson, after consultation with the Collaboration and with the CERN Management, nominates the Contactperson. The Contactperson is confirmed by the CB. The Contactperson must be CERN resident.

The CB may decide at any time with a 50% majority to restart the nomination procedure of the Spokesperson and/or of the Contactperson.

* Coordinators

The Spokesperson, in consultation with the SC, nominates for confirmation by the CB a number of Coordinators. The Coordinators report to the Spokesperson. During their term of office, the Coordinators must be based at CERN.

* Technical Coordinator

The Technical Coordinator is responsible for the coordination and integration of the sub-detector projects, for the experimental area infrastructure and services, for safety and for the installation of the detectors. The Technical Coordinator is responsible for the overall technical performance, planning, and scheduling of the detector.

* Resource Coordinator

The Resource Coordinator is responsible for the management of the human and financial resources of the Collaboration.

* Other Coordinators

Other Coordinators may be nominated by the Spokesperson.

* Project Leaders

Project Leaders (e.g. for subdetector construction, data acquisiton and event reconstruction) are nominated by consensus of the Members. Project Leaders must be confirmed by the CB.